Skip to the record
The definitive source for Noosa Council transcripts.
Item 12.1.2026-08-20 · OrdinaryOfficial item record

Financial Performance Report July 2026

Final resolution: Carried

That Council note the report by the Financial Services Manager to the Ordinary Meeting dated 20 August 2026 regarding Council's financial performance to 31 July 2026. Carried. Full wording ↓

For 6: Karen Finzel, Jessica Phillips, Frank Wilkie, Tom Wegener, Amelia Lorentson, Brian Stockwell.

Watch Brian Stockwell discuss the topic ↗
← Meeting agenda & transcript

See the votes on this matter →

What was decided?

Final supported resolution

That Council note the report by the Financial Services Manager to the Ordinary Meeting dated 20 August 2026 regarding Council's financial performance to 31 July 2026.

Carried.

Official item minutes · Event 1

1Council ResolutionCarried

Moved: Amelia Lorentson · Seconded: Tom Wegener

That Council note the report by the Financial Services Manager to the Ordinary Meeting dated 20 August 2026 regarding Council's financial performance to 31 July 2026.

Carried.

For 6 named

Karen FinzelJessica PhillipsFrank WilkieTom WegenerAmelia LorentsonBrian Stockwell

Against 0 named

No names recorded on this side.

Official minutes · section 1

Read complete item-specific minutes
Council Resolution
Moved:Cr Amelia Lorentson
Seconded:Cr Tom Wegener
That Council note the report by the Financial Services Manager to the Ordinary Meeting dated 20 August 2026 regarding Council's financial performance to 31 July 2026.
Carried.
 For:Cr Frank Wilkie, Cr Karen Finzel, Cr Jessica Phillips, Cr Amelia Lorentson, Cr Brian Stockwell, Cr Tom Wegener
 Against:None




This summary follows this item’s minutes. The established voting totals use their existing method while differences are checked against the full records.

At 31 July 2026; year ending 30 June 2027 · GST not stated

Actual, budget & variance

Read the source table ↗

Every published variance reconciles to actual less budget within one displayed $'000. Source figures are rounded; displayed values are preserved. Values below are AUD. The source displays $’000; figures below are multiplied by 1,000, with no extra precision implied. Select a row to inspect its exact page, then open its item for decisions and discussion.

How the figures match the report
  • Total Revenue actual year to date: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total -1 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 5.5).
  • Total Expenses actual year to date: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total 1 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 3).
  • Total Capital Funding actual year to date: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total 0 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 2.5).
  • Capital Expenditure actual year to date: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total 0 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 3.5).
  • Operating Result actual year to date: matches the printed subtotals within two displayed $'000.
  • Net Result actual year to date: matches the printed subtotals within two displayed $'000.
  • Total Revenue budget year to date: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total 1 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 5.5).
  • Total Expenses budget year to date: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total 1 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 3).
  • Total Capital Funding budget year to date: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total 0 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 2.5).
  • Capital Expenditure budget year to date: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total 0 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 3.5).
  • Operating Result budget year to date: matches the printed subtotals within two displayed $'000.
  • Net Result budget year to date: matches the printed subtotals within two displayed $'000.
  • Total Revenue difference from budget: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total -1 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 5.5).
  • Total Expenses difference from budget: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total 1 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 3).
  • Total Capital Funding difference from budget: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total 0 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 2.5).
  • Capital Expenditure difference from budget: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total -1 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 3.5).
  • Operating Result difference from budget: matches the printed subtotals within two displayed $'000.
  • Net Result difference from budget: matches the printed subtotals within two displayed $'000.
  • Total Revenue annual budget: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total -2 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 5.5).
  • Total Expenses annual budget: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total -1 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 3).
  • Total Capital Funding annual budget: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total -1 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 2.5).
  • Capital Expenditure annual budget: difference between the listed amounts and the printed total -1 displayed $'000 (allowance for rounding 3.5).
  • Operating Result annual budget: matches the printed subtotals within two displayed $'000.
  • Net Result annual budget: matches the printed subtotals within two displayed $'000.
At 31 July 2026; year ending 30 June 2027 · GST not stated · funding stages are kept separate
Source rowActual year to date (AUD)Budget year to date (AUD)Difference from budget (AUD)Annual budget (AUD)Decision & discussion
Rates, levies and charges$58,936,000$58,580,000$356,000$113,720,000Open item ↗
Fees and charges$2,121,000$2,096,000$26,000$13,683,000Open item ↗
Dividend income$613,000$613,000$0$2,000,000Open item ↗
Interest received$697,000$260,000$437,000$5,953,000Open item ↗
Tax equivalents$0$0$0$1,600,000Open item ↗
Sale of Goods and Major Services$1,410,000$1,377,000$33,000$17,819,000Open item ↗
Sale of Contract & Recoverable Works$0$0$0$32,000Open item ↗
Rental & Lease Income$164,000$180,000$-16,000$2,483,000Open item ↗
Other income$177,000$136,000$41,000$1,017,000Open item ↗
Grants, subsidies, contributions and donations$-1,000$0$-1,000$5,268,000Open item ↗
Total Revenue$64,118,000$63,241,000$877,000$163,577,000Open item ↗
Employee benefits$4,601,000$4,786,000$-184,000$63,835,000Open item ↗
Materials and services$4,465,000$4,827,000$-362,000$71,667,000Open item ↗
Finance costs$168,000$180,000$-12,000$2,372,000Open item ↗
Depreciation and amortisation$2,119,000$2,119,000$0$25,425,000Open item ↗
Other expenses$39,000$28,000$11,000$235,000Open item ↗
Total Expenses$11,391,000$11,939,000$-548,000$163,535,000Open item ↗
Operating Result$52,727,000$51,302,000$1,425,000$42,000Open item ↗
Capital cash contributions and infrastructure charges$48,000$48,000$0$1,597,000Open item ↗
Contributed assets$0$0$0$1,597,000Open item ↗
Capital grants and subsidies$5,312,000$5,312,000$0$42,634,000Open item ↗
Other capital revenue$0$0$0$0Open item ↗
Total Capital Funding$5,360,000$5,360,000$0$45,829,000Open item ↗
Net Result$58,087,000$56,662,000$1,425,000$45,871,000Open item ↗
Contributed assets$0$0$0$1,597,000Open item ↗
Capital works - other capital$1,548,000$2,000,000$-452,000$39,993,000Open item ↗
Capital works - QRA$1,000$0$1,000$29,200,000Open item ↗
Capital works - waste$264,000$759,000$-495,000$15,184,000Open item ↗
Loan redemption$0$0$0$1,449,000Open item ↗
Other capital expenses$0$0$0$0Open item ↗
Capital Expenditure$1,813,000$2,759,000$-945,000$87,424,000Open item ↗

What was said?

Named discussion on NoosaWatch TV

These actual transcript passages match the item’s wording. The start and end of the item’s discussion are not yet confirmed; these excerpts are not measured item airtime or exact decision moments.

Brian Stockwell233:59
Date now and I noticed Council tinsel you had your hand up as well that was the close of the debate so we can so the only thing we can do now. Is vote on it so those in support Councillor of the motion Phillips. Online is there any support of the motion? No. Okay and those opposed to the motion would be loopie, Councillor Finzel. Councillor Wilkie, your position? Opposed. We can Councillor Wegener and Councillor Stockwell. The motion is lost. Okay we now move to section item 13 of the agenda which are the ordering meeting reports. We can invite the financial services manager Zach Morton as well as Director Gatt to discuss the Financial Performance Report for July 2026.
Zach Morton-Adair235:03
Good afternoon Councillors apologies for my voice and if I cough I'm just a bit husky just getting my coughing when we get into it. So thank you and through Chair I'll take the report as read. The July report presents Council's financial performance to the 31st of June 2026 against Council's original budget for the corresponding year. As this report represents our represents only one of the first month of the financial year, cautions should be exercised in interpreting and variances and emerging trends. Many revenue and expenditure categories are influenced by time and profiling and carry forward from the previous financial year and a single month does not provide sufficient basis to identify meaningful trends. As at the 31st of July 2026 Council reported a favourable net variance to budget of 1.4 million. It's it is important to note that the July results remain preliminary as we complete the 25-26 financial statements and external audit process. A number of year-end accounting adjustments may be required which could result in some movements to the current reported position. The favourable position is primarily attributed to higher than anticipated rates and utility charges from revenue. Stronger investment earnings and lower than anticipated operating and capital expenditure. It is important to note that many of the variances reported at this stage reflect carry forward balances from the 25-26 program. Grant timing and expenditure profiling rather than underlying changes to Council's financial performance. The next item on today's agenda is budget review 1 which will provide greater detail on these movements. I would like to take the opportunity to draw attention to a number of the matters detailed in the report. As at the 31st of July 2026, Council had received 64.1 million or 39% of its operating revenue of 163 or 164 million. The favourable operating revenue variance of 0.9 million is mainly attributed to rates and charges and higher than anticipated investment earnings. Our operating expenditure for the same period was 11.4 million or 7% of Council's underlying budget. The favourable variance of approximately 0.6 million was mainly attributed to lower than anticipated employee benefits and lower than anticipated materials and services for the period. At this stage of the financial year expenditure variances are largely driven by timing and profiling factors. Further detailed commentary and analysis will be provided in subsequent for monthly finance reports. In regards to Council's business activities, the overall operating variance comprises of $1.1 million from Council's core operating activities and 0.3 from its business activities. Waste management continues to report favourably. Against its operating position, with holiday parks remaining the channelling consistent with the underlying budget. Council's capital, revenue and expenditure for the 31st of July 2026. Its capital revenue is $5.4 million, comprised primarily of capital grants, subsidies, together with development contributions, as consistent with previous comments made in monthly finance reports. Grants, receipts and development contributions remain dependent on external factors and project delivery timelines. Capital expenditure to the 31st of July 2026 was $1.8 million or 2.1% of Council's $84 works program. It is important to know that July is typically not representative of the annual capital program of delivery due to the commencement of procurement lead times, carry forward balances and mobilisation activities. Additional detail regarding the capital works for forward program, project profile and budget adjustments is included within the budget review one report following the monthly finance report. Council's total cash on hand is at the 31st of July was 153 million including 67 million held in trust. Six points 6.7 sorry, my correction, 6.7 million held in trust Councillors, investments continue to perform well against agreed benchmarks. On a 12-month basis total cash holdings have increased.4 million or 6.5% to this time last year. The stronger cash position will fix the combined impact of carry forward expenditure, timing of capital delivery and investment performance. Writer rate arrears as at the 31st of July totalled 7.7 million or 6% of Council's rate and utility charge base. This was a reduction of 354 million from June 2026 it is worth noting that the basis for the calculation of rate arrears changed and changes in July each year as the calculation is reset to use the adopted annual rates in the underlying budget just and I just think.
1 suggested discussion start time
  • 7153.0 seconds on the council source timeline · Recording time not yet verified. The end of the discussion is not yet confirmed.

The supporting record

Open full page ↗

My Comparisons

Choose two to four records of the same kind. Drag using a handle or use the “Compare” buttons.

Your selected records are saved in this browser for your account. Results use the filters on the page where you choose “Compare selected”.